Meet Us

Contact Us Now For Booking

I am Jocelyn, I am 38 years old and I have 2 children ages 7 and almost 10 that I share with their dad. I have lived in B.C, Ontario and in the United  Kingdom. I love to travel, garden, make delicious food (when I have time) and enjoy exploring Vancouver Island by kayak, hiking or exploring the many beaches. For work I am a secondary school teacher and I love my job even when it can be a challenge. I have 1 small dog and I love having pets around and so do my children. 

 
I found Cohousing when I was looking for somewhere to live after my separation. I grew up in a very community minded family and we were always involved in different aspects of the community. My parents worked hard but always connected with neighbours and friends that lived nearby. During my childhood I loved riding my bike to friends’ houses or just walking down the street to visit them. Since moving back to Nanaimo, I haven’t quite found my community or had the connections I would like to have long term for my family.
 
Cohousing seems like the obvious choice, now that I know about it. My children
love to connect with the neighbourhood kids when they can and they enjoy the freedom of going to the local park with friends.
I love seeing my children interact with people of all different ages as they learn so much from people of all ages, as we all do. 
 
I have invested in the Lost Lake Cohousing project and I intend to purchase a 3-bedroom unit.  I want my children to be in a community with people that will look out for them and nurture them to be the best they can be and to teach them things I would never think of. When I toured Pacific Gardens Cohousing it struck me how amazing it would be if my kids were bored and wanted to do crafts but not necessarily alone, and in cohousing they could go to the craft room and maybe meet someone else there and learn from them or teach them something, but most importantly build connections. The reduction of extra  things (like crafts and play structures) really struck me about cohousing and that there is always opportunity to connect but also still having your own space.
 
I am so excited to see Lost Lake Cohousing develop and I am excited to connect with all  the people that will live there.

My name is Ian and I’m a senior who loves adventure, learning new things and being alone and being with others. I’ve been a resident of Nanaimo since the early 1980’s when I moved here with my family to open a full-time office for Island Hearing Service which I managed for 23 years. I lived with my family above Departure Bay, then moved to Lost Lake area where now the new co-housing project will be built. I’ve seen a lot of changes since those days when the town was quite depressed. After my children reached adulthood and I left my wife, I lived in Qualicum Beach for a time, then bought a house on Beach Drive, in Nanaimo, sold it and moved to Machleary Street with my new wife. Single again, I enjoyed an 11 year relationship with lots of travel and adventure, such as hiking into Machu Pichu, Peru and spent a lot of time on Protection Island when here. I’ve kayaked Haida Gwai and the Westcoast.
I was a commercial salmon troller for seven years, owned two boats and fished the Gulf, the north coast and Haida Gwai. Gave it up when my son, now 47, was about 2 and just learning to speak. I did not want to miss out on being there to see him grow and develop. I greatly enjoyed being a Dad for my two kids. Which is why, when I attended a pot-luck supper at Pacific Gardens co-housing on April 1, I decided to get involved in the new project. I love “kid energy” and knew Lost lake was going to be multi-generational. Plus, the adults were friendly and kind.
Jonas and Jen have guided this process of developing the new project masterfully and everything is on-track. Our meetings to develop the use of the 3 acres –the housing buildings, common house, auto storage, workshop, roads, pathways and the myriad of details, –have been intense, productive and enjoyable.

I sold my large old house with its basement suite, fruit trees, flowers and vegetable garden in November. I planned to move to Lasqueti Island and buy a property with a small group. The project did not materialize and really, I’m glad it didn’t. This is a far better option as I keep my circle of friends here, my son and family live in Port Moody, and I can continue the weekly meeting of my meditation class. Hiking in Morrell Sanctuary is close by. Plus, I ain’t 50 any more!

My name is Kevin and I have lived in Nanaimo almost 6 years. I am a 45 year old co-parent raising our 5 year old daughter and we have a loving 11 month old Aussie-doodle. We love water and mountain sports any most activities in natures creation like hiking for views, streams and wildlife to interact with. We enjoy biking the trails too and fishing and swimming in the lakes and the ocean to cool off. We also love the serenity and mindfulness of creating art, writing, music and wanting exposure to more of these and connectedness through learning other creative arts such as cooking, preserving, needlework, gardening and so much more in the decision to become a “co-houser”.

For livelihood, I have a red seal in the power line trade and currently on sabbatical from this so far 15 year career, to explore a different path and learn more fulfilling life skills and be more present for my daughter. We are becoming more integrated in the community of Nanaimo and area as my daughter grows, and a big part of her development and my own is being in a multigenerational and multicultural environment so that we may all connect in more meaningful ways and have a much bigger “family”. The Lost Lake site is beautiful and the people involved so far are very passionate, keen for knowledge and open to sharing their life expertise in many areas which is in such alignment with the creative process thus far. I am very excited to be a co-creator in this process and to be able to continue connecting through creating our diverse and caring culture once our new home construction is completed. We look forward to meeting our new family members as we go along.

My name is Jeffrey. I’m a senior who retired initially to a co-op farm in the far north of Galiano Island, but after the co-op farm proved not so much a co-operative, my partner and I moved to Vancouver Island to a log home on a largish parcel on the side of Old Mt. Baldy overlooking Shawnigan Lake (midway between Victoria and Nanaimo in the southern part of the Island). I have long been attracted to the notion of cohousing ever since I initially learned of it from Danish and then US sources. It ideally marries the notion of co-operative living with the security of tenure associated with freehold stratification in modern BC land tenure law.

My partner and I ended up being close to another couple that had landed at Pacific Gardens Cohousing project, founded in the south end of Nanaimo in the early 2000s. We now know one other couple in that project as well. We know that both couples – both retired – are entirely satisfied with their choice. My husband and I are also at a juncture where we’re aware that we won’t be able to maintain our property very much longer into the future – just way too much work and effort for two guys that’ll both be turning 80 in the next year. While my partner thinks he’ll be happiest and most satisfied to return to the Lower Mainland where both of us had had successful work careers in the past, he has decided that his future also includes living in a seniors-only project that includes housekeeping services, communal meals, etc. Not for me! I’ve become too used to the active lifestyle of being retired on the Island. That includes belonging to at least a couple of outdoors/hiking groups and other social groups on the Island. I also enjoy a family that includes three young grandchildren, and am looking forward to jumping at the chance to live in a milieu that includes multi-generational families/households at its start. By the time the project is ready for move-in, the grandchildren will be old enough to travel back and forth in summers by themselves, and they’ll benefit from the full-time presence of others of their age and interests.

Life on the “wet” coast of Canada is certainly not what I’d intended, nor what I’d thought possible, when I launched a college career at Harvard University at the beginning of the 1960s. That life would for sure have much more predictable and staid. A war-time baby, it was a time of greater expectations, as well as continuity. My mother’s family – rural and farming-oriented, were descendant from Puritans and Quakers of early New England (Plymouth Colony). They had not moved afar in over 400 years. Their biggest single move had been to purchase an additional 2,000 acres of land from the Wampanoag Indians so that the Quakers among them could continue their farming lifestyle at a suitable distance from the Puritans that initially came to dominate the new colony.

The same had been the case for my father’s family in Pennsylvania state. Being of strong Scots-Presbyterian stock, they’d been settled in 1730 two miles from the Mason-Dixon line – the line between slave and free states (also the Pennsylvania/Maryland state line) – by William Penn as part of his effort to assure the security of his new colony’s southern frontier. While many of the Pattersons, including my family, later moved to farms in the western part of the state following the conclusion of the “French and Indian War” in 1763, the family became an integral part of the settler community that came to dominate the development of the USA.

That might have been a part of my life as well, but for the intervention of major changes and violence in the more contemporary era. I was attending graduate studies at the University of Pennsylvania in urban planning and became quite involved in the campaign of Robert Kennedy to become the presidential nominee for the Democratic Party. I’d seem headed on that career path with Kennedy’s victory in Pennsylvania and California on that fateful multi-state primary election day, only to have everything turned asunder by his assassination while I got some much-deserved sleep. I already had strong connections with several Canadian profs at both Harvard and Penn and had worked the two previous summers in Montreal. I made the decision that the USA was no longer part of my future. While it took several months to put everything in place, I became a “landed immigrant” and made arrangements to complete my Ph.D. studies at Harvard and then the U. of Toronto. It helped that my best friend’s parents had hosted the future PM Trudeau during his “off-year” at Harvard in 1943 and that I’d befriended one of his lieutenants while he’d served as Canada’s Consul- General in Boston in the years of John Diefenbaker’s government. Thus began a career spanning close to 35 years as initially a federal civil servant, then a provincial servant in Ontario’s Queen’s Park and then finally a senior planner for downtown Vancouver.

I have absolutely no regrets about the “zigs and zags” of my adult life. I love my idyllic life on Vancouver Island and Canada’s west coast. And the view from 125 metres above the Salish Sea is absolutely stunning.